Saturday, February 12, 2011


The Baseball Mexico Winter Awards for the Mexican Pacific League season will be announced on the BBM blog beginning Monday. Here's the schedule of award announcements:

MONDAY, February 14 - Newcomer of the Year
TUESDAY, February 15 - Manager of the Year
WEDNESDAY, February 16 - Pitcher of the Year
THURSDAY, February 17 - Playoff MVP
FRIDAY, February 18 - Most Valuable Player
SATURDAY, February 19 - 2010-11 LMP All-Star Team

As with the 2010 Summer "Bammy" awards, winners will be determined by a committee of one (me) and on an arbitrarily objective basis...or something like that.


Players, staff and thousands of fans converged on Obregon’s Estadio Tomas Oroz Gaytan Thursday night in celebration of the Yaquis’ first-ever Caribbean Series championship. The Yaquis won four of six to top the four-team CS standings earlier this month in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico.

Obregon fans waited for Yaquis players like Luis Ayala, Agustin Murillo and Iker Franco at the southern end of town as the parade through the streets began. The players were joined by members of the Yaquis coaching staff as well as mascot Chaco as the entourage snaked its way to the ballpark, where thousands of fans were already waiting. One player, Obregon native Karim Garcia (who joined the team from the Hermosillo roster for the CS), was given a standing ovation that brought tears to the Major League veteran’s eyes. Garcia will play this summer for Monterrey in the Mexican League after being an All-Star and fan favorite in South Korea.

Not all things in Obregon were celebratory, however. Manager Eddie Diaz, who is not signed for next winter, is being speculated upon as a potential manager for at least three teams in his native Dominican Republic and was vague when asked about his winter plans by a Dominican media source. Diaz, who will be an international scout for the Tampa Bay Rays this summer, did not attend the parade.