Tuesday, January 18, 2011


The Guasave Algodoneros defeated Culiacan, 8-2, Tuesday night to knock the Tomateros out of the Mexican Pacific League semifinals in six games and advance to the LMP championship series against the Obregon Yaquis (who swept Los Mochis in four straight games).

The Cottoneers pushed the first run of the game across the plate in the top of the second inning against Culiacan starter Andres Meza when Marshall McDougall scored from third base on a bases-loaded Gabriel Gutierrez groundout. Guasave added three more in the fifth on a Mario Valenzuela (pictured) leadoff homer, a Leo Heras RBI single and a run-scoring fielder’s choice grounder by Jose Rodriguez. Culiacan finally got on the scoreboard in the sixth when Amaury Cazana led off with a double and scored on Jorge Vazquez’ single against Guasave starter (and winner) Daniel Guerrero, but the Algodoneros put this one away in the seventh with four more runs, two coming in on a Yurendell de Caster double.

Guasave advances to the MexPac finals for the third time in team history. They defeated Culiacan for their only pennant in 1971 and lost to Mazatlan in 2006. The Algodoneros-Yaquis series will begin Friday night with the first of two games in Obregon before shifting to Guasave next Monday.