Saturday, January 28, 2012


The Obregon Yaquis have finalized their Caribbean Series roster by adding eight more players from other Mexican Pacific League team prior to flying to Santo Domingo for Thursday’s CS opener.

The defending Mex Pac and CS champions picked up three pitchers, a catcher, three infielders and an outfielder to bolster a lineup that has already been strong enough to defeat Guasave in four straight games for the LMP pennant after topping the Algodoneros in six games during the first round and Mexicali in five contests in the semifinals.

Joining manager Eddy Diaz’ Yaquis for their trip to the Dominican Republic are pitchers Dan Serafini (Los Mochis), Miguel Gonzalez (Mazatlan) and Edgar Gonzalez (Hermosillo), catcher Humberto Cota (Hermosillo), infielders Oscar Robles (Mexicali), Jose Rodriguez and Jesus Lopez (both Guasave) plus outfielder Chris Roberson (Hermosillo).

Although the others all have their bonafides as pitchers and players, the selection of Lopez is a curiosity because he batted just .246 with 2 homers and 11 RBIs in just 114 at-bats and has little to show after six years of minor league ball in Mexico and the USA. Lopez was selected over more proven shortstop entities like Flavio Romero, Rolando Acosta, Ramiro Pena or Luis Alfonso Cruz, who had an outstanding winter for Culiacan in finishing third in the Mex Pac in batting (.340) and homers (17) and RBIs (47).

The Yaquis will be greeted in Mexico City by National Sports Commission director Bernardo de la Cruz on Tuesday before flying out to Santo Domingo the next day. Obregon’s first CS game is scheduled for Thursday night at 7PM local time against the host Dominican League champion. The Escogido Leones lead the best-of-9 LiDom title series, 4 games to 3, over Cibaenas after beating the Aguilas by a 5-2 score Saturday.

Elsewhere among CS leagues, Mayaguez has won the Puerto Rican League pennant and has made their reservations for Santo Domingo, while Aragua leads LaGuaira, 3 games to 2, in the Venezuelan League’s best-of-7 championship series.