Friday, October 7, 2011


The Caribbean Series champion Obregon Yaquis hosted the Mexican Pacific League’s annual preseason “Dinner of Champions” Tuesday night in the Sonora city, at which food and awards were both served with equal relish to attendees.

Yaquis team president Lic. Rene Rodriguez gave the evening’s welcome, followed by a few words from Mex Pac president Omar Canizales. A number of baseball luminaries were also on hand, including Salon de la Fama members Ronnie Camacho, Vicente Romo and Dr. Arturo Leon Lerma.

Among trophy recipients from last winter, Los Mochis’ Edwin Salas earned the Melo Almada Award for Rookie of the Year, Mochis southpaw Alberto Castillo was given the Vicente Romo Award for Pitcher of the Year, Hermosillo’s Luis Alfonso Garcia took away the Ronnie Camacho Award as home run champion, Eduardo Arredondo of Guasave was handed the Matias Carrillo Award as LMP batting champion and a third Mochis player, Justin Christian, received the Hector Espino Award for Most Valuable Player.

Matias Carrillo of Guasave got the Benjamin Reyes Award for Manager of the Year while Obregon skipper Eddie Diaz was honored as the Champion’s Manager. Yaquis president Rene Rodriguez and GM Francisco Minajares were also awarded for their front office work.