Sunday, February 27, 2011


The Mexican Pacific League has announced its award winners for the recently-concluded 2010-11 season at a February 25 league meeting in Hermosillo.

Justin Christian of the Los Mochis Caneros was named the Most Valuable Player after leading the LMP in a five offensive categories and finishing third in the batting race with a .356 average. Alberto Castillo of Mochis beat out Culiacan’s Matt Buschmann and Obregon’s Marco Quevedo for Pitcher of the Year after turning in a 9-2 record to lead the Mex Pac in wins while registering a 3.94 earned-run average. Rookie of the Year honors went to another Mochis pitcher, Edwin Salas, who went 4-2 with a 4.03 ERA in 19 appearances (seven of them starts).

While Eddie Diaz of Caribbean Series winners Obregon was honored as manager of the LMP champions, the league’s Manager of the Year award went to Matias Carrillo of Guasave after leading the Algodoneros to the first half title and bringing his team to the seventh and deciding game of the championship series with Obregon.

Front office awards went to two men from Obregon: Yaquis team president Rene Rodriguez for Executive of the Year and Francisco Minjares for General Manager of the Year.