Friday, January 28, 2011


A pair of crucial ninth-inning throwing errors by Obregon shortstop Everth Cabrera (pictured) allowed the go-ahead runner to get on base and later score as Guasave came from behind to beat the Yaquis, 5-4, Friday night in Obregon to tie their Mexican Pacific League championship series at three game apiece.

The Yaquis drew first blood in the bottom of the second inning when Victor Diaz cracked a two-run homer off Guasave starter Mauricio Lara and Doug Clark made it a 3-0 game one frame later with a two-out solo blast against Cottoneers reliever Robert Novoa. Guasave eventually tied the contest in the eighth at 4-4 on solo homers to left by Japhet Amador and Yurendell de Caster off consecutive Mario Mendoza, Jr. pitches (de Caster’s bomb crashed against a Banorte sign above the stands). The Algodoneros pulled ahead in the ninth when one bad throw to first by Cabrera put leadoff hitter Jesus Lopez on second base and a later Cabrera misfire allowed Lopez to score from third. Obregon loaded the bases in the bottom of the ninth, but Guasave closer Alan Guerrero struck out Elian Herrera looking to end the game.

Game Seven will be played Saturday night in Obregon’s Estadio Tomas Oroz Gaytan. Guasave is seeking their second LMP pennant in the team’s four-decade history. Obregon is looking for their fifth MexPac flag. Spanish language telecasts of the MexPac finals have been available on the UStream website at