Wednesday, November 10, 2010


The Xalapa Chileros defeated the Los Tuxtlas Brujos, 3-2, Tuesday night to clinch the 2010 Veracruz Winter League championship series. The Chileros beat the Brujos, 4 games to 2.

Humberto Montemayor bested Roberto “Machine Gun” Ramirez in a pitching battle between two longtime Mexican League veterans. Xalapa got all the runs they needed in the first two innings of the contest. Edgar Quintero stroked an RBI single in the top of the first to give the Chileros a 1-0 lead, while Jesus Romo and Valentin Gamez each registered RBI safeties in the second to stretch Xalapa’s advantage to 3-0. Ramirez settled after that, but the mortal wounds had been delivered.

Montemayor sailed through seven innings with little trouble, although Tuxtlas player-manager Pedro Mere drove in one run in the second and Javier Robles rapped a run-scoring single in the sixth to make it a 3-2 game, but the defending champs couldn’t get any closer as relievers Daniel Baca and Eddy Candelario pitched the final two innings to seal the win and the title for Xalapa.

The pennant is the second for the Chileros, who were managed this year by Shamar Almeida.