Monday, March 15, 2010


Mexican baseball’s version of the hall of fame, the Salon de la Fama, last week announced the election of five new members for 2010. Chairman of the Electors Gonzalo Camarillo gave the names of the new inductees last Wednesday at the Monterrey facility. Joining the pantheon were position players Alonso Tellez, Gerardo Sanchez and Derek Bryant, pitcher Armando Reynoso and umpire Efrain Ibarra.

An outfielder, Tellez was a perennial .300 batter (mostly for the Monterrey Industriales and Reynosa) from the mid-1980s through the early 2000s. Tellez who topped the .300 mark for 10 consecutive Mexican League seasons between 1988 and 1997. Sanchez was an outfielder for Nuevo Laredo for two decades, finishing with a .289 career batting average and 199 homers. Bryant (pictured), who currently manages the Laguna Vaqueros, was a very productive batter from 1982 through 1988, hitting .355 with 141 homers in 704 games for the Mexico City Tigres, Tampico and Monterrey. He also managed Monterrey to Liga pennants in 1995 and 1996. Reynoso, a native of San Luis Potosi, spent all or part of 12 seasons in the major leagues, compiling a career 68-62 record with a 4.74 ERA. Ibarra spent many years as one of the Liga’s most- respected umpires.

The five newest members will be formally inducted into the Salon in June.

No comments: