Saturday, January 23, 2010


The Las Tuxtlas Brujos won their second consecutive Veracruz Winter League title by finishing their league championship series against the Xalapa Chileros with a 5-3 win on January 15, one year to the day after clinching the 2008-09 pennant.

Tuxtlas, who swept their way to first place in the regular season, got a homer from Fernando Alejos in the eighth inning to break a 3-3 tie. Major league veteran Kit Pellow then singled and later came around to score an insurance run for Tuxtlas.

The Brujos lost the first two games of the set at home to the Chileros, but then roared back to win all three games on the road in Xalapa before returning home to end the series.

No comments: