Saturday, January 30, 2010


The other three leagues sending teams to the Caribbean Series have also concluded their respective playoffs, rounding out the field playing this week in Isla Margarita, Venezuela.

The Dominican League was the first to crown a champion, as the Escogido Leones topped the Cibao Gigantes, 5-3, last Thursday in Game Nine at Estadio Julian Javier in San Francisco de Macoris. Francisco Liriano (pictured) won his third postseason game by pitching five innings of one-hit shutout ball for Escogido.

Two more champions were crowned Friday night. The Caracas Leones topped Magallenes, 7-2, to take the seventh and deciding game of the Venezuelan Series as Carlos Maldonado was 4-for-5 at the plate with a double and two RBIs. Gregor Blanco added a solo homer to back up Caracas starter Jason Standridge, who let in one run in six innings.

Also, the Mayaguez Indios had to go eleven innings Friday before finally vanquishing the Caguas Criollos, 8-6, to win the Puerto Rican League Championship Series in five games. Angel Sanchez had four hits with a run and two RBIs for Mayaguez while Edwards Guzman knocked in a pair of runs as the Indios clinched their first trip to the CS since 2005.

No comments: