Saturday, January 2, 2010


Hermosillo turned in a 20-13 record to overtake Culiacan and hold off a hot Obregon team to win the Mexican Pacific League’s second-half title. The Naranjeros won six of their last ten games while the Tomateros won just four in the same period. The clock ran out on the Yaquis, who went 8-2 in their last ten contests (winning the final two games at Hermosillo) to finish tied for second with Culiacan at 19-13, a half-game out of first. The Tomateros were awarded second place after defeating Obregon in two of the three games played between the teams during the second half’s unbalanced schedule.

By picking up 8 points in winning the second-half crown, the Naranjeros won the overall points title with 14, ahead of first-half champion Mazatlan’s 12. Obregon is the third seed in the playoffs with 11 points, while Mexicali and Culiacan were tied with 10 points each (the Aguilas getting the nod for fourth by finishing 2.5 games ahead of the Tomateros in the overall standings). Navojoa and Guasave tied for the sixth and final playoff berth with 8.5 points apiece, but the Mayos reached the postseason after finishing 2 games up on Guasave. Los Mochis finished last in the points race with 7.5 and, like the Algodoneros, will miss the playoffs.

No comments: