Saturday, September 19, 2009


On the heels of Dionys Cesar receiving the Most Valuable Player award, the Mexican League has announced more top honors for the 2009 season.

Puebla pitcher Andres Meza was named Pitcher of the Year. The 23-year-old Meza led the Liga with 15 wins, finishing 15-2 with a 2.72 ERA and two shutouts over 125.2 innings pitched. The Culiacan native debuted with the Pericos in 2007.

Quintana Roo closer Scott Chiasson was named Reliever of the Year. The Norwich, Connecticut product helped lift the Tigres to the LMB Championship Series with a league-high 34 saves, ending the year with a 4-2 record and 2.61 ERA.

Japhet Amador was named Rookie Player of the Year after splitting his first season between Minatitlan and Veracruz. The 22-year-old infielder batted .306 with 21 homers and 74 RBIs in 106 games for the Petroleros and Aguilas.

Mexico City pitcher Juan Pablo Oramos was selected Rookie Pitcher of the Year after going 9-1 for the Diablos and tying Campeche ace Francisco Campos for the ERA title at 2.31. A 19-year-old lefty, Oramos is a Tabasco native.

No comments: