Sunday, August 2, 2009


The 2009 Mexican League playoffs got underway this weekend as the regular season came to a close last Thursday night. The Mexico City Diablos Rojos, who won the Northern Zone’s first half title, ended with a 36-16 record to finish on top in the second half as well, ending the season with a Liga-best 16 points. Points are assigned to all teams for each half based on how they finished in the standings, starting with eight points for the first-place team all the way down to four points for finishing eighth.

The Yucatan Leones won the Southern Zone’s second-half title at 35-18, but finished second overall to Quintana Roo. Both teams ended up with 15 points, but the Tigres got the nod for top playoff seed by posting a 71-36 overall record, while Yucatan ended the regular season 2.5 game behind with an aggregate 68-38 mark.

First round matchups in the Northern Zone have Mexico City taking on the Laguna Vaqueros while Saltillo battles Reynosa. Laguna is in the postseason for the first time in five years. In the LMB South, the Tigres are playing Campeche and Yucatan is facing off against Puebla. The first round will consist of best-of-7 series, after which the Zone Finals will begin a week from Monday.

One notable absence from the postseason is Monterrey, a perennial Mexican League powerhouse. The Sultanes finished in a three-way tie for third place in the Northern Zone in the second half, but only received 5.5 points after a poor first half to end up out of the money.

No comments: